F1 Spanish GP: Timings, schedule, TV info | F1 | News

Ferrari heads to Barcelona in search of their first F1 win at the Spanish Grand Prix since 2013.

Charles Leclerc remains top of the drivers’ championship but he has seen his lead reduced significantly following back-to-back victories for reigning champion Max Verstappen.

The Circuit de Barcelona-Catalunya has been a regular fixture on the F1 calendar in recent years and Mercedes has dominated the race in recent years.

Since 2014, Mercedes have won all but one of every Spanish Grand Prix, but they have remained undefeated in qualifying since 2013.

While it’s unlikely Mercedes will be able to continue that trend in 2022, they will be hopeful of an improvement in form.

Spain is often the place many teams introduce new upgrades given that it is in Europe, close to the team’s factories and testing takes place at the same venue, giving them good data to compare with from February.

Weekend schedule (UK time): 


Free Practice 1 – 13:00 – 14:00

Free Practice 2 – 16:00 – 17:00


Free Practice 3 – 12:00 – 13:00

Qualifying – 15:00 – 16:00


Grand Prix – 14:00

How to watch the F1 Spanish GP?

All 23 races this season are being shown exclusively live on Sky Sports F1, while extended highlights will be shown on Channel 4 later in the evening.

Who’s the driver to beat in Barcelona?

Verstappen is in fine form after taking back-to-back victories in Imola and Miami.

Red Bull’s straight-line speed has given them a clear advantage over Ferrari, who are expected to introduce a significant upgrade this weekend.

Ferrari were the team to beat in the Barcelona test with McLaren so Leclerc returning to the top step and taking their first win on Spanish soil since 2013 is a likely possibility.

Home hero Carlos Sainz is still searching for his maiden F1 victory after ending his poor run of form in Miami with third.

Recent F1 Spanish GP winners:

2021: Lewis Hamilton (Mercedes)

2020: Lewis Hamilton (Mercedes)

2019: Lewis Hamilton (Mercedes)

2018: Lewis Hamilton (Mercedes)

2017: Lewis Hamilton (Mercedes)

2016: Max Verstappen (Red Bull)

2015: Nico Rosberg (Mercedes)

2014: Lewis Hamilton (Mercedes)

2013: Fernando Alonso (Ferrari)

2012: Pastor Maldonado (Williams)

2011: Sebastian Vettel (Red Bull)

2022 F1 race calendar and dates

March 20 – Bahrain GP

March 27 – Saudi Arabian GP

April 10 – Australian GP

April 24 – Emilia Romagna GP

May 8 – Miami GP

May 22 – Spanish GP

May 29 – Monaco GP

June 12 – Azerbaijan GP

June 19 – Canadian GP

July 3 – British GP

July 10 – Austrian GP

July 24 – French GP

July 31 – Hungarian GP

August 28 – Belgian GP

September 4 – Dutch GP

September 11 – Italian GP

October 2 – Singapore GP

October 9 – Japanese GP

October 23 – United States GP

October 30 – Mexico City GP

November 13 – São Paulo GP

November 20 – Abu Dhabi GP

Memorable moments 

The most memorable incident in recent years came at the 2016 Spanish Grand Prix when Mercedes teammates Nico Rosberg and Lewis Hamilton collided on the run into Turn 3 on the opening lap.

The pair’s collision opened the door for Verstappen, to claim his maiden F1 victory – becoming the sport’s youngest-ever winner. 

Pastor Maldonado claimed Williams’ first victory in over eight years back in 2012, defeating Fernando Alonso.

Maldonado often showed great pace during his career but was prone to incidents.

The 2012 Spanish GP was the perfect race for the Venezuelan as he won for Williams.

Source link

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.